Bergmeister
Next event September salonpriveconcours.com

The Brand

Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER

What in the world could be more satisfying than seizing the legacy of a long-standing brand and translating it into the present day?  For project manager Roland Stagl the development of the new Bergmeister was not only a unique and wonderful journey, but also a long-cherished dream. At the same time it was also an enormous challenge and responsibility that in many ways tested both his own limits and those of the Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER team to the hilt.

All of the  "Austrian Daimler" under the historic brand had a sporty touch, although the engines were not usually of that large a volume. The reason for this probably lies in the generous calculation of the motor vehicle tax in Austria, which was calculated based on the cubic capacity. Even at the time this shortcoming was compensated by well-proportioned parts, matched with high-quality technology and well-selected materials.

During the development of the Bergmeister, of paramount importance to Roland Stagl was to capture the spirit of the original Bergmeister from the very first sketch and build the bridge to the future. 

The most exciting challenge was to capture the pioneering and innovative spirit of that time, without falling into the "retro trap" in design terms.

It was therefore of enormous importance that the new Bergmeister was presented as if the brand had never ceased to exist – not only in terms of design but above all in technical terms – the vehicle should set new standards, since Austro Daimler was already extremely innovative and progressive in the past.

For Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER it is a very special pleasure and honour to present the new Bergmeister for the first time to the world’s public at the Villa D’este on the 90th anniversary of the Concorso D’Eleganza.

A double anniversary therefore, since the 120th anniversary of the founding date of AUSTRO DAIMLER is in August 2019.

There were many ways, opportunities and approaches to tackling this task. Learn more about the exciting journey undertaken by Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER, starting with the roots of the brand, up to the reinterpretation of the new AUSTRO DAIMLER Bergmeister ADR630 Shooting Grand.

Learn more about the historic brand and history of Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER

The Model

The new Bergmeister

AUSTRO DAIMLER concept: Bergmeister ADR 630 Shooting Grand

Just prior to the 120th anniversary of its founding, the Austrian traditional brand Austro Daimler presents the spiritual heir of the legendary ADR, that became renowned as a "Bergmeister" (mountain champion) thanks to its numerous successes in mountain races and was later also marketed under this name.

Learn more…

Technology

Progress is here

The Bergmeister as a Shooting Grand

The space requirements of the SERIPA Performance Hybrid powertrain meant that a creative solution was necessary for the new Bergmeister design as a two-seater touring car in order to be able to store luggage for passengers during longer journeys.

During the design process, the combination of classic Gran Turismo and the concept of the Shooting Brake – Shooting Grand emerged, the best of both worlds.

SERIPA Performance Hybrid

SERIPA realises the advantages of conventional hybrid vehicles with acceleration values ​​in the high-performance range. This fusion of serial and parallel hybrid technology in our hybrid powertrain developed from scratch is a world first – just like our Bergmeister.

The properties of SERIPA offer high fuel efficiency and therefore very low pollutant emissions, especially in view of the existing engine power.

This also applies during long-distance operation, where conventional hybrid vehicles use pure combustion operation after having exhausted the available battery capacity and are even at a disadvantage compared to pure combustion vehicles due to the higher weight of the hybrid drive.

Range and charging power

With the SERIPA Performance Hybrid the Bergmeister ADR 630 Shooting Grand offers an electrical range far greater  than any currently available hybrid vehicles  At the same time, the standard built-in charging system is designed for a charging capacity of up to 150kW, which means that very short charging times can be achieved with the corresponding charging infrastructure.

Due to the high electrical drive power, an equally high recuperation power is achieved, which has a further positive effect on the charging power for the integrated high-voltage accumulator and thus on the overall efficiency of the vehicle.

Packaging

The configuration of the SERIPA powertrain components provides  a centralisation of mass and a low centre of gravity. Drivers of the new Bergmeister will appreciate the positive influences on road holding and handling.

The design of the vehicle components is also unparalleled:  The traction battery with a capacity of 55KWh is in front of the rear axle. The exhaust system is positioned on the passenger side, opening into a side pipe just behind the right front wheel. The sidepipe is not just a design element, but rather a technical choice: Its positioning means that leading the exhaust system over a comparatively long way over the entire vehicle to the rear can be avoided. This saves on weight and space – moreover, this enables a more efficient rear diffuser design, without having to take into account a complete exhaust system in the rear of the vehicle.

Furthermore, the compact design in the engine compartment means that the exhaust system can be quickly brought to operating temperature, which has a positive effect on the emitted emissions.

Bergmeister
Kontaktieren Sie uns für Preise und Details

Die Marke

Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER

Was kann spannender sein, als das Erbe einer lange vergangenen Marke aufzugreifen und in die heutige Zeit zu übersetzen? Die Entwicklung des neuen Bergmeister war für Projektleiter Roland Stagl nicht nur eine einmalige und wunderbare Reise, sondern auch ein lange gehegter Herzenswunsch. Gleichzeitig aber auch eine enorme Herausforderung und Verantwortung, die ihn und das Team von Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER in vielerlei Hinsicht an ihre Grenzen brachte.

Alle „österreichischen Daimler“ der historischen Marke hatten eine sportliche Note, wenn auch zumeist kein allzu großvolumiger Motor im Vordergrund stand. Ursache war vermutlich die großzügige Berechnung der Kraftfahrzeugsteuer in Österreich, die über den Hubraum berechnet wurde. Dieses Manko wurde schon damals durch wohlproportionierte Teile, sowie hochwertigste Technik und bestens ausgewählte Materialien ausgeglichen.

Bei der Entwicklung des neuen Bergmeister war es Roland Stagl daher von der ersten Skizze an enorm wichtig, den Geist des ursprünglichen Bergmeister einzufangen und die Brücke zur Zukunft zu schlagen.

Die spannendste Herausforderung dabei war, zwar den damaligen Pionier- und Innovationsgeist einzubringen, ohne sich aber in Gefahr zu begeben, designmäßig in die "Retro-Falle" zu tappen.

Nicht nur in gestalterischer Hinsicht war es daher enorm wichtig, den neuen Bergmeister so darzustellen, als ob die Marke nie zu existieren aufgehört hätte – besonders in technischer Hinsicht sollte das Fahrzeug neue Maßstäbe setzen, da Austro Daimler auch in der Vergangenheit als ausgesprochen innovativ und fortschrittlich galt.

Für Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER ist es eine ganz besondere Freude und Auszeichnung, den neuen Bergmeister erstmals in der Villa D’este zum 90jährigen Jubiläum des Concorso D’Eleganza der Weltöffentlichkeit zu präsentieren.

Ein doppeltes Jubiläum, denn darüber hinaus jährt sich das ursprüngliche Gründungsdatum von AUSTRO DAIMLER im August 2019 zum 120. Mal.

Es hätte viele Wege, Möglichkeiten und Herangehensweisen gegeben, um diese Aufgabe anzugehen. Erfahren Sie auf diesen Seiten mehr über die aufregende Reise von Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER, beginnend mit den Wurzeln der Marke bis hin zur Neuinterpretation des neuen AUSTRO DAIMLER Bergmeister ADR630 Shooting Grand.

Erfahren Sie mehr zur historischen Marke und zur Geschichte von Projekt AUSTRO DAIMLER

Das Modell

Der neue Bergmeister

Konzept AUSTRO DAIMLER: Bergmeister ADR 630 Shooting Grand

Kurz vor dem 120. Gründungsjubiläum der österreichischen Traditionsmarke Austro Daimler präsentieren wir den geistigen Erben des legendären ADR, der wegen seiner zahlreichen Erfolge in Bergrennen als „Bergmeister“ große Bekanntheit erlangte und später auch unter diesem Namen vermarktet wurde.

Erfahren Sie mehr…

Die Technologie

Der Fortschritt ist da

Der Bergmeister als Shooting Grand

Die Konzeption des neuen Bergmeister als Reisewagen bedingte bei der Ausgestaltung als Zweisitzer durch den Platzbedarf des SERIPA Performance Hybrid Antriebsstrangs eine kreative Lösung, um auch das Gepäck für zwei Personen bei weiteren Reisen unterbringen zu können.

Im Zuge des Designprozesses ergab sich so die Verbindung aus klassischem Gran Turismo und dem Konzept des Shooting Brake – Shooting Grand, das Beste aus beiden Welten. Shooting Grand ist eine eingetragene Marke.

SERIPA Performance Hybrid

SERIPA realisiert die Vorteile herkömmlicher Hybridfahrzeuge mit Beschleunigungswerten im Hochleistungsbereich. Die Verschmelzung serieller und paralleler Hybridtechnologie in unserem von Grund auf neu entwickelten Hybridantriebsstrang hat die Welt – wie unseren neuen Bergmeister – noch nie gesehen.

Die Eigenschaften von SERIPA bieten hohe Verbrauchseffizienz und dadurch sehr geringen Schadstoffausstoß, vor allem in Anbetracht der vorhandenen Motorleistung.

Das gilt auch im Langstreckenbetrieb, wo herkömmliche Hybridfahrzeuge nach Aufbrauchen der verfügbaren Batteriekapazität im reinen Verbrennerbetrieb arbeiten und hier aufgrund des höheren Gewichts des Hybridantriebes gegenüber reinen Verbrennerfahrzeugen sogar benachteiligt sind.

Reichweite und Ladeleistung

Der Bergmeister ADR 630 Shooting Grand bietet mit dem SERIPA Performance Hybrid weit höhere elektrische Reichweite als alle derzeit verfügbaren Hybridfahrzeuge. Gleichzeitig ist das serienmäßig verbaute Ladesystem auf bis zu 150kW Ladeleistung ausgelegt, wodurch mit der entsprechenden Ladeinfrastruktur sehr kurze Ladezeiten realisiert werden können.

Durch die hohe elektrische Antriebsleistung wird eine ebenso hohe Rekuperationsleistung erreicht, was sich weiter positiv auf die Ladeleistung für den integrierten Hochvoltspeicher und damit auf die Gesamteffizienz des Fahrzeuges auswirkt.

Packaging

Die Konfiguration der Komponenten des SERIPA Antriebsstrangs sorgt für eine Massezentralisierung an der Fahrzeugmitte und einen niedrigen Schwerpunkt. Fahrer des neuen Bergmeister werden die positiven Einflüsse auf Straßenlage und Fahrverhalten zu schätzen wissen.

Die Gestaltung der Fahrzeugkomponenten sucht ebenfalls seinesgleichen: Vor der Hinterachse befindet sich die Traktionsbatterie mit einer Kapazität von 55KWh. Auf der Beifahrerseite befindet sich das Abgassystem, das in ein Sidepipe kurz hinter dem rechten Vorderrat mündet. Das Sidepipe ist hierbei nicht nur ein Designelement, sondern resultiert aus einem technischen Hintergrund: So muss das Abgassystem nicht über einen vergleichsweise weiten Weg durch das gesamte Fahrzeug zum Heck geführt werden. Das spart Gewicht und Platz – darüber hinaus wird dadurch eine effiziente Gestaltung des Heckdiffusors möglich, ohne auf ein komplettes Abgassystem im Heck des Fahrzeuges Rücksicht nehmen zu müssen.

Weiters kann durch die kompakte Bauweise im Motorraum das Abgassystem rasch auf Betriebstemperatur gebracht werden, was sich positiv auf die emittierten Abgaswerte auswirkt.